The Group of Twenty (G20)

(Non Ad Hoc)

The Group of Twenty (G20) is an international forum for the governments and central bank governors from 20 major economies. The G20 was founded in 1999 with the aim of studying, reviewing, and promoting high-level discussion of policy issues relating to the promotion of international financial stability. It seeks to address issues that go beyond the responsibilities of any one organization. The G20 does not have any formal ability to enforce rules but the G20’s prominent membership gives it a strong input on global policy.The Group of Twenty consists of the following member states: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, European Union (represented by the European Commission and by the European Central Bank), France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, The Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, United Kingdom and the United States of America. G20 summits take place semi-annually and are often a focus for major protests by anti-globalists, nationalists and others. The G20’s primary focus is global economic governance but the themes of its summits vary from year to year. The G20 is an Ad Hoc-committee, in which every member state has one vote.