top of page


(Ad Hoc)

​The ASEAN was established in 1967 by the Founding Fathers of ASEAN, Indonesia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. It was originally created to promote the economic, social and cultural development in the Southeast Asian Nations. This committee is responsible for:

  1. Accelarating the economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region through joint endeavours in the spirit of equality and partnership in order to strengthen the foundation for a prosperous and peaceful community of Southeast Asian Nations;

  2. Promoting regional peace and stability through abiding respect for justice and the rule of law in the relationship among countries of the region and adherence to the principles of the United Nations Charter;

  3. Promoting active collaboration and mutual assistance on matters of common interest in the economic, social, cultural, technical, scientific and administrative fields;

  4. Providing assistance to each other in the form of training and research facilities in the educational, professional, technical and administrative spheres;

  5. Collaborating more effectively for the greater utilisation of their agriculture and industries, the expansion of their trade, including the study of the problems of international commodity trade, the improvement of their transportation and communications facilities and the raising of the living standards of their peoples;

  6. Promoting Southeast Asian studies; and

  7. Maintaining close and beneficial cooperation with existing international and regional organisations with similar aims and purposes, and explore all avenues for even closer cooperation among themselves.

ASEAN is a double delegation committee composed of ten members from South Asia, elected on the basis of equal rights.


bottom of page